348 N Bluff St, STE 205

St. George, Utah




Surrender your mind, breathe, focus, trust,

BELIEVE...all that is in you is enough.


to transform yourself from the inside out.



My Yoga – It is Delicious

Have you dabbled in yoga in the past and wondered “Is this for me?” Once you have sampled a taste of the yoga I have grown to hunger for, I hope you will return for a second slice.In a culture that continues to suppress our internal needs with external stimuli, we find ourselves pinned to the outside edge of a spinning centrifuge struggling to break free from the endless list of responsibilities, obligations and distractions.

The eight limbs of yoga serve as a recipe, utilizing only the finest ingredients, for moral and ethical conduct to inspire us to live more meaningful and purposeful lives. While many have been introduced to the physical practice of yoga, the other seven limbs of yoga are exquisite gems waiting to be discovered and explored. Take my hand, grab a spoon, and let me guide you on a most scrumptious and delectable journey through the first of eight tempting layers of my favorite dessert.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Yama:  Universal morality and social ethics to live in harmony with others

Niyama:  Personal ethics to live in harmony with oneself

Asana:  Postures to build strength, balance and flexibility so energy can flow freely

Pranayama:  Breath control to increase vital energy

Pratyahara:  Introspection and the withdrawal of external stimulation

Dharana:  Concentration and focus

Dhyana: Meditation

Samadhi:  Oneness

As we begin to savor the first layer of yoga we discover the Yamas, which contain 5 ancient ingredients:  Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya, and Aparigraha.

First, sift two cups of Ahimsa, the practice of complete abstinence from pain or injury to any living creature or person. This yama implies so much more than just refraining from physical violence, but includes abstaining from harming others mentally, spiritually or emotionally as well.  Negative thoughts, words or actions can be as hurtful as any physical attempt to harm. Ahimsa springs from the intention to act with clarity and love. Ahimsa is kindness and compassion - add it frequently to your interactions with others and stir lightly.

Next, mix in ample amounts of Satya, meaning truthfulness in our feelings, thoughts, words, and behaviors. Satya requires filtering our thoughts before speaking and then speaking honestly and accurately with no ill will toward another for personal gain or power. Words cannot reflect truth unless they flow from the spirit of non-violence and love. Honest communication is the foundation of healthy and happy relationships and should elevate and edify the listener as well as the speaker. Words can be sharp, offend, inflict pain or when chosen from compassion, can inspire, challenge, enchant, and provide comfort and hope.  Being truthful with one's self is the highest form of Satya. Blend well and enjoy the sweet essence of truth.

Measure the third ingredient with careful attention, Asteya or non-stealing. This refers to the stealing that stems from believing we cannot create what we need. We steal because we believe the universe is lacking in abundance.  Asteya also includes rooting out the subconscious beliefs of lack and scarcity that cause greed and hoarding.  Practicing asteya is important in our culture where the difference between wants and true needs have become almost completely lost. When we take more of the world’s resources we are, in a way, stealing them from someone else. When we take more than we need we contribute to the suffering of others. Fold asteya in graciously knowing that there will always be enough.

Drizzle the fourth ingredient, Brahmacharya, sparingly. Bramacharya is the practice of non-excess, moderation, self-restraint and preserving one’s sexual energy rather than spending it liberally. It is important to note that the brahmacharya is not a moralizing yama.  This yama is a reminder that our sexual vitality is a powerful and motivating force. Practicing brahmacharya is an opportunity to gain control over our physical impulses and break the bonds that attach us to the excesses and addictions that limit us. Each time we resist impulsive behavior; we become stronger, healthier and more aware of our true needs. Cooling Brahmacharya to room temperature gives us the opportunity to be present and focus on what is happening at the moment without obsession.

Sprinkle the final ingredient, Aparigraha or non-possessiveness, to taste. Aparigraha, can be translated to non-grasping or non-attachment. Observing this yama means not coveting what is not ours. Aparigraha, in its essence, helps us discover our own selves so that we no longer feel the need to covet what someone else has, or be what someone else is. This is yama can be challenging in our materialistic society that measures the value and success of an individual by the number of luxury goods and services they can afford to purchase.  Turning away from the belief that luxury and material things equate to happiness and success requires courage and confidence. Living this principle includes letting go of our attachment to ideas or beliefs that no longer serve us.

The first layer is now complete, celebrate your mastery of the recipe…grease the wheels of your mind and your pan, and then pour the knowledge and batter in preparation for baking.

These five ingredients, love, truthfulness, abundance, moderation, and contentment place us on the fulfilling path of savoring the ambrosial taste of yoga everyday.

Yoga unlocks the power, intelligence, potential, and beauty that lies within each of us. It creates a

path to self-discovery, self-realization, and self-mastery. Practicing the eight-limb path of yoga promotes a stillness of mind, increased mental clarity, focus, creativity, and awareness while providing a physical and emotional release from the daily stress and pressure of a fast-paced, instant, indulgent, and demanding lifestyle.

Life is uncertain. Consume yoga first…it’s delicious.